## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

August 15, 2024

The Honorable Chuck Schumer Majority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chairman Senate Committee on Finance 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mike Crapo Ranking Member Senate Committee on Finance 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Senators Schumer, McConnell, Wyden and Crapo:

We write to you about the need for the Senate to expeditiously consider the bipartisan Federal Disaster Tax Relief Act of 2023 (H.R. 5863). Although the Senate was unable to pass the Tax Relief for American Families and Workers Act of 2024 (H.R. 7024), millions of Americans are still in need of federal disaster tax relief. The need for this relief cannot be overstated, and that is reflected in the unprecedented discharge petition the House used to pass this legislation. This bipartisan effort was the result of 29 Republicans and 189 Democrats. After this successful discharge petition, the bill was scheduled for a vote on May 21, 2024, when it passed 382-7

This was the third successful discharge petition in the 21<sup>st</sup> century. The previous two, in 2002 and 2015, were both measures taken up by the Senate and signed into law by the President. It is our hope that the historic significance of our discharge petition on the Federal Disaster Tax Relief Act of 2023 demonstrates to the Senate the weight of its importance.

Through no fault of their own, too many Americans have incurred thousands of dollars in disaster-related expenses. Many others are also facing unfair tax burdens as a result of being heavily taxed on rightful compensation from being the victim of a wildfire disaster.

The Federal Disaster Tax Relief Act of 2023 is a comprehensive bill that includes coverage to over 300 disasters across 47 states as well as addressing both wildfire payments and the East Palestine, Ohio train derailment. This bill, and the bills precursing it, predate the Tax Relief for American Families and Workers Act of 2024 (H.R. 7024). It is the bipartisan result of representatives joining efforts to deliver disaster relief for American taxpayers after a years-long effort independent of the bipartisan tax package.

To provide some brief history on disaster tax relief initiatives:

- On January 10, 2023, Reps. Doug LaMalfa and Mike Thompson introduced H.R. 176 to exclude from gross income of a taxpayer the compensation victims receive in connection to a qualifying wildfire disaster.
- On March 1, 2023, Rep. Bill Johnson introduced H.R. 1270 to exclude from gross income the compensation resulting from the East Palestine train derailment on February 3, 2023.
- On March 1, 2023, Rep. Greg Steube introduced H.R. 1331 to treat Hurricane Ian as a qualified disaster area for purposes of the disaster-related casualty loss tax deduction.

All of our constituents know the devastating nature of disaster recovery all too well. It is our sincere hope that the Senate will take up the Federal Disaster Tax Relief of 2023 on unanimous consent to swiftly pass this bill so the President can sign it into law quickly.

Sincerely,

Mike Thompson

Member of Congress

Michael Waltz

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen

Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart

Member of Congress

Byron Donalds

Troy E. Nehls Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

trament:

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Katie Porter

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

N Tokude

María Elvira Salazar

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

wellvell

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Nafine Waters

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

Andy Barr Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress rance of Bice

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress



Ed Case

Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Gabe Vasquez

Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

<mark>lo</mark>e Neg<mark>u</mark>se

Member of Congress

Terri A Sewell

Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar

Member of Congress

Troy Carter

Immy Panetta

Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas

Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz

Member of Congress

Josh Harder

Member of Congress

Jay Obernolte

Member of Congress

Robert Garcia

Member of Congress

C. Scott Frankli

C. Scott Franklin Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

P 100

Greg Stanton

Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Kat Cammack

Member of Congress

Mike Garcia

Member of Congress

Carlos A. Gimenez

Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson

Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman

Bornie Workan Colema

Member of Congress

Andrea Selines

Andrea Salinas

Member of Congress

Nancy Mace

Member of Congress

Darren Soto

Member of Congress

Morgan Luttrell

Member of Congress

Laurel M. Lee

Member of Congress

aux Destate

Diana DeGette

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean

Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury

Member of Congress

Clay Higgins

Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO

Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Jared Moskovitz

Member of Congress

Hillary JOScholten