"> Skip To Content


June 23, 2022 | Press Releases

Rep. Steube Fights to Protect Title IX on 50 Year Anniversary


Click here to view Rep. Steube’s Remarks

WASHINGTON—U.S. Representative Greg Steube (R-Fla.) on Thursday joined Leader McCarthy, Republican Study Committee Chairman Jim Banks, fellow Members of Congress, organizations invested in a fair playing field for women, and several current and former female athletes from around the nation to mark the 50th anniversary of Title IX.

“It’s a sad day in America when we have to pass a bill to say that women’s sports will be women’s sports and men’s sports will be men’s sports,” Congressman Steube said at the roundtable. “Fifty years of equality for women on the athletic field would be destroyed by what this Administration wants to do.”

Rep. Steube introduced H.R. 426 The Protection of Women and Girls in Sports Act to fight to keep Title IX protections in women’s sports. The legislation allows women and girls a fair playing field in competitive sports by ensuring that school athletics comply with the Title IX recognition of a person’s reproductive biology and genetics at birth.

Congressman Jim Banks filed a discharge petition for Rep. Steube’s bill in April to seek a forced vote on the legislation. Currently, 187 Members of Congress have signed onto the discharge petition.

Representatives from Independent Women’s Voice, Concerned Women for America, Family Policy Alliance, Family Research Council, and Alliance Defending Freedom were in attendance, in addition to the following individuals: 

  • Rep. Barbara Ehardt, Former NCAA women’s basketball coach and first state legislator in the country to introduce a Save Women and Girls’ Sports bill 
  • Macy Petty, Young Women for America ambassador and NCAA scholarship volleyball player
  • Cynthia Monteleone, Team USA world champion track athlete who competed against a transgender athlete at the World Championship 
  • Riley Gaines, Champion NDAA swimmer who competed against Lia Thomas 
  • Chelsea Mitchell, High school runner who lost four state championships and other honors to biological males