"> Skip To Content


September 28, 2021 | Press Releases

Steube Introduces Legislation Imposing Sanctions on Afghanistan Rare Earth Mineral Transactions

WASHINGTON, D.C.— U.S. Representative Greg Steube (R-Fla.) today introduced the Taliban Rare Earth Minerals Sanctions Act, which would impose sanctions on persons engaging in transactions in Afghanistan’s rare earth minerals.

“The Biden administration’s disastrous withdrawal from Afghanistan has given the Taliban control of one of the largest deposits of rare earth minerals in the world, which jeopardizes our national security,” Steube said. “Banning the Taliban and China from profiting off of rare earth minerals is commonsense.”

The Taliban’s control of these minerals likely now makes them the wealthiest terrorist organization in the world. This legislation puts in place a sectoral approach to facilitate the ability to quickly sanction entities involved in sourcing Afghan rare earth minerals. Such an approach would cut off Communist Chinese firms operating in Afghan rare earth minerals from accessing U.S. markets and the U.S. financial system.

Steube worked with the Republican Study Committee (RSC) to draft this legislation. Representatives Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), Rick Crawford (R-Ark.), Tim Burchett (R-Tenn.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.), and Dan Newhouse (R-Wash.), Scott Franklin (R-Fla.), Doug LaMalfa (R-Calif.), and Joe Wilson (R-S.C.) are original co-sponsors of the bill.

The full text of the legislation can be found here.