Skip To Content


February 22, 2019 | Press Releases

Steube Introduces Resolution to Commemorate the Bicentennial of the Adams-Onís Treaty

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, on the 200th Anniversary of its signing, Congressman Greg Steube (R-Fla.), joined by a bipartisan group of Florida Representatives, introduced a Resolution to commemorate the Adams-Onís Treaty which granted the territory of present-day Florida to the United States.

“It is important to commemorate this momentous anniversary,” said Congressman Steube. “My hope is that with this Resolution we will shine a light on this often overlooked piece of American history. The Adams-Onís Treaty is not only an important part of my state’s heritage, but also the heritage of the United States. The Treaty paved the way for the later completion of the Louisiana Purchase and led to tremendous contributions to the United States economy from the Sunshine State.”

The Adams-Onís Treaty gave the United States control of Spanish lands that constitute present-day Florida in addition to the land stretching from its panhandle westward, across the southern portions of modern-day Alabama and Mississippi to the eastern banks of the Mississippi River. Spain entered into negotiations with the United States following the invasion of then General Andrew Jackson during the First Seminole War (1817-1818). On February 22, 1819, the treaty was signed by then Secretary of State John Quincy Adams and Spanish Diplomat Don Luis de Onís.

The Adams-Onís Treaty also ushered in the first member of Congress of Hispanic decent, Joseph Marion Hernández, who served as Florida’s first Territorial Delegate during the 17th Congress (1821-1823).

Introducing this Resolution, Congressman Steube is joined by Florida Representatives Ted Deutch (D-Fla.), Mario Díaz-Balart (R-Fla.), Neal Dunn (R-Fla.), Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.), Brian Mast (R-Fla.), Bill Posey (R-Fla.), Darren Soto (D-Fla.), Ross Spano (R-Fla.), and Michael Waltz (R-Fla.).